Mexican Crockpot Carnitas

Standard

Hola!

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend. I had a wonderful weekend!

The weekend started with a baby shower after work. I love going to baby and bridal showers. I love to celebrate the good things in life! After the shower I went to see my cousin’s son in a play. He was great! Saturday didn’t start out so well because I had to work. The good thing is that the day went by super fast. Saturday evening I went to my cousin’s house for girls movie night…Magic Mike! I must say that Magic Mike’s acting is atrocious but his moves are ferocious! Rawwwr! Sorry…I am still thinking about the dancing in the movie. I thought it was going to be a “fun” movie but it wasn’t. The plot wasn’t good at all and the only good actor in the movie was Matthew Mcconaughey! The company I was in is what made the night great! Sunday morning I went to another baby shower then off to my parents house. It was truly a wonderful weekend!

Have you ever had carnitas? That is translates to “little meats. They are pretty much roasted (or fried) delicious pork chunks! We have the best carnitas place about 10 minutes from us and I can’t get enough of them. The only down side to they typical awesome Mexican carnitas is that they are not very healthy! That doesn’t stop me from eating them but If I want to be more health conscious I make these.

While regular carnitas are pretty greasy these are nice and lean. I am not going to tell you that they taste exactly the same but for the health factor they are delicious!

Mexican Crockpot Pork Carnitas

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 lb pork shoulder blade roast, lean, all fat removed (I used Smithfield)
  • 6 cloves garlic, cut into sliver
  • cumin
  • dry adobo seasoning (I used Goya)
  • garlic powder
  • 3/4 cup 99% fat free chicken broth
  • 2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce ( or to taste)
  • 2 bay leaves

Directions:

Season pork with salt and pepper. In a medium sauté pan on medium-high heat, brown pork on all sides for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Using a sharp knife, insert blade into pork, cutting small holes and insert garlic slivers. Season pork generously with cumin, adobo and garlic powder all over.

Pour chicken broth in the crockpot, add bay leaves and chipotle peppers. Place pork in crock pot and cover. Cook on low for 8 hours. After 8 hours, shred pork using two forks and combine well with the juices that accumulated at the bottom. Remove bay leaves and adjust salt and cumin . Let it cook another 15-30 minutes.

To make tacos just heat up your tortillas, add your meat and whatever other ingredients you would like. I dress them simply with finely chopped onion, chopped cilantro and a squeeze of lime. Don’t forget your salsa!

This recipe is WW Friendly with 1/2 cup of carnitas coming in at 4 old points or 4 points plus. If you make tacos don’t forget to add points for your tortillas and any other delicious things you are adding.

My first Zumba class is tonight…wish me luck!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source http://www.skinnytaste.com/

Leave a Reply

