Chocolate Mint Cookie Bars

Standard

Yes! The weekend is here! This has been the longest and busiest week I’ve had in a long time! I have had something to do every evening after work. Zumba kicked my but Monday. Tuesday there were errands to run. Wednesday I worked in the evening after a visit to a university with my daughter. Yesterday I had another Zumba class and today errands and house cleaning. Whew!

My feet are really hurting after Zumba when I wear my gym shoes  but I am going to continue to go until I really can’t take it anymore. I am hoping to get some orthotics for my gym shoes…maybe that will do the trick!

I should not be eating anything white. No white breads, no pasta, no white rice, etc…It is so hard! I have kind of failed at it. the only thing I have had success changing has been the white flour I usually use to bake with. I am substituting white wheat flour for regular white flour. It seems to work well for the desserts I have been making.

I used the white wheat flour in these Chocolate Mint Cookie Bars. Nobody in my house is a big fan of mint except for me.

You know what a big fan I am of clearance items. Unfortunately with all the chemicals and preservatives in foods they pretty much last forever! After Christmas  when all the sales were on I bought several different bags of candies and chocolates including Andes mints and what better thing to make with them than these delicious cookie bars?

Chocolate Mint Cookie Bars

Ingredients

1 box yellow cake mix
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
5 Tbsp melted butter
2 Tbsp milk
1 cup Andes mint chips (I used chopped Andes mints)
1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a 9×13-inch pan with cookie spray.  Set aside.

Mix together all ingredients and spread in prepared pan.  Bake for 22-25 minutes, until lightly golden.  Allow to cool completely and cut into bars.

Is this not the easiest recipe you have ever seen? The taste of mint was so sublime! I just love it!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source http://www.plainchicken.com/

 

Leave a Reply

