Autumn Penne Pasta with Sautéed Brussel Sprouts

Standard

Whew!

Made it through last week and the weekend…crazy and bumpy! The week was super busy. Saturday was very nice. Did some regular shopping with my girls and of course grocery shopping. Then in the evening we went to my cousins son’s First Communion. The kids looked so adorable in their white dresses and suits. Made my feel good to be in church celebrating with my family for such a great little boy! Sunday was crazy during the day as I tried to catch up on laundry and a few other things. Has anyone else been watching “Call the Midwife” or “Mr. Selfridge”? I love these two mini series. If you haven’t had a chance to watch them you should try them. They come on Sunday night on Channel 11 in our local area. I was at my parents but had to leave to make it home on time to watch these two mini series! I hope that doesn’t make me selfish!

Here we are with a new week! I was so exhausted this weekend that I thought maybe I was crazy for starting Zumba since I have to go every Monday but I can’t think like that! I am going to Zumba, I am going to Zumba, I am going to Zumba!

I didn’t have too much time to cook this past week. Last week we had chicken from Costco, quesadillas and cereal. Just quick and easy stuff! but I should be back on a kind of schedule now and should be able to cook again. I made this pasta a while back but just hadn’t posted it.


Autumn Penne Pasta with Sautéed Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients

  • 1 sweet or hot pork sausage link, casing removed, crumbled
  • 3/4 lb 93% lean ground turkey
  • 4 tsp olive oil, divided
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced thin
  • 10 oz brussels sprouts, weight after outer leaves and stems removed
  • 1 small onion, diced small
  • 1 carrot, peeled and diced small
  • 1 celery stalk, diced small
  • 28 oz crushed tomatoes
  • 1 bay leaf
  • pinch crushed red pepper
  • kosher salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1 lb high fiber, low carb or whole wheat pasta (I used regular pasta)

Directions:

In a large, wide skillet, add sausage and turkey over medium-high heat, breaking up the sausage and turkey as it cooks into small pieces. When completely cooked through; set aside in a bowl.

With a sharp knife, cut the brussels sprouts into thin shreds.

To the skillet, add 2 tsp of oil over medium heat. When hot, add the garlic and cook until golden (be careful not to burn!). Add shredded brussels sprouts, salt and pepper and sauté until tender crisp, about 4 to 5 minutes; set aside in another bowl.

To the same skillet, add remaining 2 tsp of oil over medium-high heat. Add onion, carrot and celery, stirring well to coat with oil. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables turn golden brown, about 10 to 12 minutes. 

Add crushed tomatoes, sausage and turkey, bay leaf, crushed red pepper, salt and fresh pepper to taste. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer about 30 – 40 minutes, or until sauce thickens.

Meanwhile, while sauce is simmering, put a large pot of salted water to boil for the pasta. Add the pasta to the water 10 minutes before the sauce is done and cook pasta al dente.  

Drain and add the pasta to the skillet and toss with the sauce.

Add cooked brussel sprouts, toss and place in a large pasta bowl and enjoy!

I used regular pasta so that my kids would eat it. they don’t really like the wheat pasta or any other kind of healthy pasta.

Each 1 3/4 cup serving is 6 old points or 8 points plus for WW. Of course make sure you add the extra points if you use regular pasta. This was really good and made a lot of food! I love recipes that make a lot because that means left overs!

Have a great Monday!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source http://www.skinnytaste.com/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

