Israeli Couscous with Mushrooms, Shallots and Asparagus

Standard

Hola!

On Wednesday my sister-in-law had her baby! I am so excited! My niece is absolutely beautiful! We went to go visit them in the hospital on Wednesday evening. I  can’t wait to go visit her again this weekend! My brother will probably have to kick me out of his house because I will want to be over all the time to hang out with the baby!

It has been a very busy week.I did make it to my Zumba classes this week so I am pretty proud of myself. I have been eating a lot less meat lately and have found myself more drawn to veggies  and other types of foods.

Like couscous,  Israeli couscous are small, round, pasta-like granules made from semolina and wheat flour. It’s so good and I really like the consistency and smoothness of it. The first time I have ever tried it has been in this recipe.

This was so good and of course I am going to assume it was healthy because of the veggies! I didn’t even share this with my husband. I made it on Monday  night after Zumba when he wasn’t home and I am glad because it was so good I was able to have it for several lunches!

Israeli Couscous with Mushrooms, Shallots, and Asparagus

  • 5 T. olive oil, divided
  • 3 T. freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh lemon zest
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. honey
  • 1 c. Israeli couscous
  • 2 c. low sodium chicken broth
  • 3 medium to large shallots, halved and thinly sliced
  • 4 oz. button mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 2 c. slender asparagus pieces, cut to 1” lengths at a diagonal
  • 1 c. shelled fresh green peas or frozen, thawed
  • 2 T. finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/3 c. chopped fresh parsley
  • kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

Whisk 2 tablespoons olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, 1 clove garlic, and honey in a small bowl. Set aside.

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add couscous and sauté until you see some of the couscous turning a golden brown. This should take about 5 minutes. Then add the chicken broth, increase heat to high, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until broth is absorbed and couscous is puffed and tender, about 10 minutes or so. Remove from heat.

While couscous is cooking, start cooking the vegetables. In a large skillet with tall sides, heat remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium-high heat. Add shallots, remaining clove of garlic, and mushrooms, and sauté for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then stir in the asparagus and sauté for an additional 3 to 5 minutes, or until asparagus is crisp-tender. Add peas and cooked couscous to skillet and fold together. Drizzle prepared lemon dressing over the mixture and stir. Finally, sprinkle the Parmesan and parsley over the mixture and fold again. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Serve warm or at room temperature.

I didn’t sprinkle any parsley or Parmesan cheese on mine. It was so delicious! This will be a definite repeat  over the summer. It was delicious hot and cold.

What are your Mother’s Day plans? We are all getting together at my house then probably going to visit my brother and his new little family! Of course there will be food involved!

Mother’s Day is celebrated in Mexico on the 10th of May, no matter what day of the week it falls on. Felíz Día de las Madres to all the mamacitas out there and here!

Enjoy your Friday!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source http://www.afarmgirlsdabbles.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

