Cheesecake Parfaits with Cherry Pie Filling

Standard

Hey!

I am tired. I can’t seem to get up in the mornings and don’t feel like doing anything when I get home…must be the weather or the anticipation of being on vacation. I have a hard time being at work when I know someone is home without me. They are probably glad I am not home, but I would like to think otherwise!

Isn’t it awesome when you feel like you have found the perfect recipe for every occasion? That is definitely the case with this dessert recipe. Sometimes you want to make something quick but homemade that tastes absolutely divine.

I actually made these parfaits for Mother’s Day. Please excuse my ugly picture. I made the parfaits the night before and when it’s time to eat dessert at my house you better not dilly dally taking pictures!

The cheesecake filling is heavenly . It’s sweet (but not too sweet) and airy.

The whipped cream topping was light and fluffy!

Cheesecake Parfaits with Cherry Pie Filling

Ingredients

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (20-ounce) can of cherry pie filling

DIRECTIONS:

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whip heavy cream until stiff peaks form.

In another clean bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat cream cheese, sugar, lemon juice and vanilla until smooth, scraping the sides of the bowl and beaters as needed. Fold in 1/3 of the whipped cream to lighten it; then add the remaining whipped cream, gently folding until the filling is light and fluffy.

Using 3-4 wine glasses, pour the filling into each glass, layering with the cherry pie filling.

Serve chilled. Makes 3-4 servings

I made this for a work BBQ and everyone loved it. I was so happy! The only difference was that I put them in mini nut cups, added some graham cracker crumbs to the bottom of the cup then layered the cheesecake filling, some pie filling and then a few sprinkles of graham crackers crumbs to make them pretty.

If you don’t feel like turning on your oven this is the perfect dessert.

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from http://damndelicious.net/

Leave a Reply

