We are “Mint” to be together!

Standard

Hola!

My vacation started yesterday and I am super happy! I set my alarm for 8 am and actually got up at 7:50. Getting up before my alarm clock rings is usually not my style but I want to take full advantage of the days and not sleep in too late!

If you follow me on instagram (@micasayourcasa) or like my Facebook page (Mi Casa is your Casa) you will see lots of pictures that I don’t always post to my blog. One of those pictures would be of the mint that grows in my backyard. It kind of grows wild. My mom had given me a piece of Yerba Buena (Hierba Buena) or mint  years ago and it has just multiplied all over my garden areas.

This is what it looks like.

I usually pick it through out the summer and dry it to use in different ways. I just strip the leaves off the stems and put it on wax paper covered cookie trays to dry in my sunroom. I turn and mix up the leaves every day to make sure they all dry very well.

If I don’t turn them every day it will take longer for them to dry. The picture below is of the mint drying for three days.

Once the mint is completely dry I just break and crush it up with my clean hands and store it in a mason jar for future use.

The Spanish name yerba buena translates as “good herb” and is part of the mint species which varies from region to region. I am not sure which species this is but I believe it is spearmint.

How is is used you ask?  You can use it for cooking. I love using fresh mint in albondigas. You can find a recipe for albondigas here  https://micasayourcasa.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/flors-albondigas/

Yierba buena is supposed to be medicinal also.

  • Yerba Buena tea used as body pain reliever . Good for headache, stomach ache and tooth ache.
  • Yerba Buena poultice used for Rheumatism, arthritis and headache   – crush the fresh leaves squeeze sap. Massage sap on painful parts with eucalyptus.
  • Yerba Buena tea for cough and colds   –. Drink as tea. Acts as an expectorant.
  • Yerba Buena as mouth wash for swollen gums and tooth aches   – steep 6 grams of fresh plant in a glass of boiling water for 30 minutes. Use solution as gargle.
  • Yerba Buena tea for menstrual and gas pain   –. Drink infusion. It induces menstrual flow and sweating.
  • Yerba Buena minty scent for nausea and fainting   – crush leaves and apply at nostrils of patients.
  • Yerba Buena leaves for Insect bites   – crush leaves and apply juice on affected part or pound leaves until paste-like. Then rub this on affected part.

I have used  mint tea for upset stomachs and it has always worked. I also make iced brewed min tea in my Mr. Coffee Iced Tea Maker all summer long. It’s very refreshing and smells beautiful!

I guess I have always just used yierba buena or mint because my mom also used it. So far so good…

Please always use caution when trying new things. Make sure you consult a physician first before trying anything new!

Besos,

Flor

2 responses »

  1. This is a great post. I have 3 small mint plants this year (different varieties). I love having them in the garden (for the look and smell) but had no idea what to do with them. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

