Tomato Cheddar Strata with Broccoli

Standard

Hey!

It has been a lazy week…let me explain that. Every summer vacation I say that I am going to clean certain things out…sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t. Everyone I know tells me that I should not worry about things being so organized and clean. I like clean. I like organized. Before children my small house and everything in it was very clean and very organized. After children and after moving into a bigger house a long time ago there is not such thing as clean and organized.  This summer vacation I have come to the realization that I am not going to clean and organize too much. I haven’t slept in but I have been spending time reading and just hanging around the house-and I am OK with that. I will put the pressure on myself when I go back to work, but for now I am going to take it easy!

This  dish will help you have an easy day! When I make a dish like this we usually have it for breakfast and possibly dinner. I try to make these kinds of dishes when I don’t want to be in the kitchen all day…talk about lazy! Since it is made in a 9×13″ pan you should have plenty!

I love the way it looks all rustic.

The colors are beautiful. Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch or Dinner.

Tomato Cheddar Strata with Broccoli

  • 4 1/2 cup(s) (about three-quarters of a French loaf) 1-Inch Bread Cubes
  •  Butter, for greasing dish
  • 6 ounce(s) Shredded Cheddar (About 1 1/2 Cups)
  • 1 cup(s) Halved Grape Tomatoes (I used off the vine chopped tomatoes)
  • 1 cup(s) Frozen Broccoli Florets(I used fresh broccoli)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon(s) Chopped Fresh Italian Parsley
  • 8 large Eggs
  • 3 cup(s) Milk
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon(s) Salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon(s) Freshly Ground Pepper
  • 4 ounce(s) (1/2 cup) Ricotta Cheese
  • 1 teaspoon(s) Herbes De Provence

Directions

  1. Place bread in a buttered 9- by 13-inch baking dish. Top bread with 1 cup Cheddar, tomatoes, broccoli, and 1 tablespoon parsley.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, salt, and pepper. Pour egg mixture over bread and gently press to soak every cube. Add spoonfuls of ricotta over top. Sprinkle strata with herbes de Provence and remaining Cheddar. Cover and refrigerate for several hours or up to overnight.
  3. Remove strata from refrigerator and bring to room temperature, about 1 hour. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Bake until strata is puffed and lightly golden brown, about 1 hour. Set aside to cool for 10 minutes. Garnish with remaining parsley. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Make this and have a lazy day!

Besos,

Flor

Leave a Reply

