Chocoflan

Standard

Hola!

Another week gone by and the weather has been crazy! I can’t believe the amount of rain that we have had.

I have been trying to work on Project Life and have been having a really difficult time with it. I think I am just so used to scrapbooking the regular way. I am going to try and continue with Project Life until I can really get crafty with it.

Chocoflan…what can I say about it? It’s like magic. Flan and cake together. Who ever thought these two can actually be baked together?

This is a really bad picture but I was in a hurry the day I made this. That’s a bad excuse…I’m sorry!

When I was putting it together I just wasn’t sure that it was going to work out…but it sure did!

This cake was so good that there was absolutely none left. I love when that happens!

 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cajeta or caramel sauce
  • 1 box Chocolate Cake mix (I used Devil’s Food)
  • 6 eggs
  • 1-1/3 cups water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

Preheat oven to 350ªF.  Spread the cajeta or caramel in the bottom of a 10-inch cake pan.  (The cake pan needs to be atleast 3-inches deep.) 

Prepare the cake mix according to package directions with 3 of the eggs, the oil, and water. Pour the batter into the cake pan.

Puree the remaining 3 eggs, the evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk and vanilla in a blender until smooth.

Gently ladle the milk mixture over the cake batter.

Place cake pan inside of a larger baking pan.  Fill the larger pan halfway up with hot water.  

Bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean.  Remove cake pan from oven; let cool to room temperature on a wire rack.  Invert a plate on top of the cake pan.  Flip the plate and cake pan over.  Carefully remove the cake pan.

Feel free to jump up and down when it comes out just moist, delicious and perfect! Make sure t refrigerate any left overs. You really don’t want this dessert to go to waste.

Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source La Cocina de Leslie

 

 

Leave a Reply

