Gelatina de Leche/Sweet Milk Gelatin

Standard

Hola!

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend!

On Friday we went to the Fashion, Jewelry and Accessories show. I have been once  before but was not very impressed by it. This time I was a bit more impressed. I bought the cutest summer dresses and a few other items. It was a pretty good time.

I used to be a makeup addict. I overcame my addiction. And now it’s reared its beautiful head again!  Considering I am horrible at applying makeup it makes no sense but it’s the way products are packaged  that just make them so cute! I have learned a trick or two watching some makeup tutorials. The last time I went to the Dollar store I found some Skinny Girl tinted moisturizer that I like quite a bit. It’s perfect for summer when I want lighter coverage. I am glad I bought it. I went to the dollar store again this week to buy some cleaning supplies but of course I got sidetracked! This was my extra special purchase.

I had previously purchased the Sinful Nail Polish (which I really like!) at Target and I was super excited when I found it at the dollar store along with Maybelline blush! The blush reminds me of high school because that’s what I wore back then too.  I am a huge MAC fan but when money is tight I usually will just buy cosmetics that catch my eye  and are a bit less expensive. Julissa and I also made a quick trip to Walgreens and Ulta just to “look”. I bought makeup at both places…I better start really paying attention to those tutorials!

I love buying the layered gelatin in the cute plastic containers that are sold at the majority of Hispanic grocery stores. I always wondered how they made it. I always avoided trying to make it because I figured it was really hard. Now I have the basic Gelatina de Leche recipe and it is awesome!

I served my gelatin with some blueberry jam right on top. Simple and sweet.

Gelatina de Leche

Ingredients

  • 14 oz. sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 envelopes unflavored gelatin
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 1 stick cinnamon

Directions

Combine cinnamon stick and boiling water in a bowl. Combine both envelopes of gelatin and 1/2 cup cold water in another bowl;stir until gelatin is dissolved. Combined sweetened condensed milk and gelatin mixture. Remove cinnamon stick from the 2 cups of boiling water. Combine boiling water, vanilla and condensed milk mixture. Stir well until combined.

Pour into a 13×9 pan or in molds and refrigerate 2 hours or until firm.

This is another great summer dessert. It wasn’t difficult at all. What was I afraid of?

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from cooks.com

Leave a Reply

