Banana Nut Muffins

Standard

Hey!

We are at that time of year again…getting ready for school! Yesterday we bought my daughters school supplies. I love doing that! It’s that addiction of office and school supplies that gets me excited for a new school year. I kept pointing out cute stuff to my daughter that she didn’t even need…something is wrong with me! We were also looking for school uniforms. We found everything but that! I went to Ross that opened nearby and OMG! Forgot about the uniforms the minute I walked in that store. The clothes are amazing! Julieta fell in love with some dresses and she has never been a dress wearer, but she is now! I bought her a few summer dresses and of course bought some for myself. Their prices are so reasonable that I couldn’t help it. Now, I need to clean my closet out again before I go back to work next week. It was worth it! Uniform shopping will have to wait until next week I guess…

I don’t know about you but about this time of year I also think about snacks. Snacks are so important during the school year. I like making sure there is something snacky (and maybe semi-healthy) for everyone to eat until I get home and make dinner .Besides fruit I think muffins make excellent snacks. They are not just for breakfast or brunch.

These Banana Nut Muffins are delicious!

Just look at them. You can even see some banana chunk in them. Moist. Filling.Portable. That’s one of the reasons I like muffins. You can put them in a baggie or container and throw them in your bag to go. I put all my muffins in a huge Tupperware bowl and leave them on my counter for snacks. They don’t last long, but that’s ok!

Banana Nut Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 overripe bananas
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and lightly butter 2 muffin tins.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside. Mash 2 of the bananas with a fork in a small bowl so they still have a bit of texture. With an electric mixer fitted with a wire whisk, whip the remaining bananas and sugar together for a good 3 minutes. Add the melted butter, eggs, and vanilla and beat well, scraping down the sides of the bowl once or twice. Mix in the dry ingredients just until incorporated. Fold in the nuts and the mashed bananas with a rubber spatula. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins to fill them about halfway. Give them a rap on the counter to get any air bubbles out.

Bake until a toothpick stuck in the muffins comes out clean, 18 to 20 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes before turning the muffins out. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Take out those tins and get to baking!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source Food Network-Tyler Florence

Leave a Reply

