Loaded Cauliflower and Chicken Casserole

Standard

Hola!

I have done absolutely nothing at home. After dinner I have been laying in bed watching TV. My house is a mess so this weekend I will have to get some energy from somewhere and clean up my home. I don’t know if anyone else feels this way but our home feels like a person to me. When she is dirty I feel so bad and sorry for her. It makes me sad when my house is a mess and she is sad looking too. I love when I am done cleaning and she shines and sparkles like the glorious gem she is. So there will be lots of cleaning and sparkling this weekend!

What do you think about cauliflower? I think it’s a bland,  boring vegetable. It doesn’t really have any flavor. It is pretty though. It’s like a big white brain! We had three cauliflowers from the garden this summer and of course they were all ready at the same time! I had no idea what to do with them. It’s not a vegetable that we eat on a regular basis.

I tried making a mac and cheese with cauliflower and let me just say that it was not popular. I had to do something with the other two so I looked up some recipes. And this one was a big winner…

This casserole was so flavorful and you couldn’t even tell there was cauliflower in it.

Loaded Cauliflower and Chicken Casserole

Ingredients

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked & cubed
  • 2 heads cauliflower
  • 8 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 8 ounces Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • 2 bundles green onions, sliced
  • 3 ounces bacon pieces
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Salt & pepper
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Steam cauliflower until tender.
  3. Meanwhile, combine cheeses in a large bowl. Remove ¼ of cheese and set aside. Stir chicken, green onions, bacon, and garlic into remaining cheese.
  4. Stir cauliflower into cheese mixture and season with salt & pepper. Pour into a 9×13 glass baking dish. Top with additional cheese.
  5. Cover with foil and bake for 25 minutes.
  6. Remove foil and bake for an additional 5 minutes.

I really liked that this didn’t require a lot of ingredients. The cauliflower adds some healthiness to the dish!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source Rachel Schultz

Leave a Reply

