Mozzarella, Tomato and Gnocchi Bake

Standard

Hola!

What a quiet weekend…maybe too quiet. The important thing is that I did get plenty of sleep! That makes me a happy mama! I did make a quick trip to Archivers. I hadn’t been in there for about 8 months or so. I thought I was going to go crazy buying everything there but nothing really caught my eye….maybe on the next trip!

I really like Italian Food. Well, then again I love all food! This gnocchi bake was amazing! It has all the tomatoey, cheesy goodness that I like in Italian food!

That cheese makes me melt.

Want some?

Mozzarella, Tomato and Gnocchi Bake

Ingredients

  • 16 oz fresh gnocchi
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cans (14.5 oz. ea)  diced tomatoes 
  • 1 tsp dried chili flakes
  • 8-10 oz  mozzarella balls, sliced
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • Handful of basil leaves
  • Sea salt and black pepper, to season

Cook the gnocchi according to the instructions on the package, then drain and set aside. Heat the olive oil over a high heat and sauté the garlic and onion until soft. Add in the chopped tomatoes and chilli flakes and bring the sauce to the boil.
Lower the heat and cook at a steady simmer for 15 minutes until it has reduced. Add in the sugar and season with sea salt and ground black pepper. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place the gnocchi into the pan along with tomato mixture and stir until each piece of gnocchi is nicely coated.
Pour into a greased baking dish (9in x 9in) and top with the mozzarella slices and torn basil leaves. Place in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until the top is nicely golden brown and bubbling. Serve immediately with a sprinkling of parmesan if you like.

I really could not believe that something so simple could be so flavorful. If you have fresh tomatoes you could probably replace the canned chopped tomatoes with them.

Delicioso!

It’s going to be a long week! Schools in our district start tomorrow so I hope all the kids are ready. I know my daughter is going to have a hard time adjusting!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from GoodMoodFood

Leave a Reply

