Chickpea and Tomato Salad with Basil

Standard

Hola!

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend! I had a great birthday weekend. There was a lot of canning going on here! I will post those pics another day. My husband and I made it to the movies Saturday night. We were supposed to see The Butler but my husband really wanted to see Kick Ass II. My husband enjoyed it but I thought it was one of the worst movies ever! I felt like it was definitely the kind of movie made for 17-year-old boys…just my opinion!

Yesterday was my birthday so we went out for a birthday lunch and spent some time together as a family. That was the best part! With the kids growing up it seems that they are always busy doing their own thing so I really enjoyed that we all got to hang out together for a while. We decided to go to Flat Top Grill. It was very tasty.

Here we are…

Julissa is the only one who had been to this restaurant before so she was the teacher showing what we had to do. It was pretty neat!

You choose all your ingredients and put them in a bowl. Put all your meats or seafood in another bowl. Place them on the counter and they stir fry or make a soup with your ingredients and bring them to your table. I thoroughly enjoyed my two bowls!

After stopping at the mall briefly we came home and rested for a while before digging into this delicious gourmet cake that my best friend made me. This girl needs to open a bakery! Did you here me Dube?

This picture does not do this amazing cake justice. Thank you, Dube!

I do have a refreshing recipe for you. We have lots of tomatoes and basil right now. The first huge batch of tomatoes was used for canning and cooking this weekend. This salad is delicious and will be my lunch today!

Chickpea and Tomato Salad with Basil

Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • About 1 pint grape tomatoes, halved (or chopped tomatoes to your liking)
  • 25 large basil leaves, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp honey (10g)
  • pinch of salt

Directions

Toss all ingredients together and chill for at least 20 minutes, allowing all the flavors to come together.

Simple and refreshing!

Have a great day!

Recipe source greenlitebites

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

