Pepper Relish

Standard

Hola!

You already know that I have been doing some canning. We had lots of banana peppers that I needed to do something with so what better way to use them up than to can them. I also had a few green bell peppers, a lone red pepper and a handful of red jalapeños that weren’t spicy at all.  I incorporated them all into this recipe that I found. Other than the green relish I put on my hot dogs I have never tried any another kind of relish…until today. The Pepper Relish was different but in a good way. It is totally foreign to me because it is sweet. It is kind of like a sweet salsa.

Don’t you love that tag! Got to love the Dollar Spot at Target…especially when those items are 50% off!

I did not want to cook a big meal today so fried up some potatoes and grilled some Turkey Jalapeño Sausage.  I threw the sausage in a hotdog bun and added some chopped onion and some of the Pepper Relish…simple weeknight meal.

It was pretty tasty.

I didn’t have a gallon of peppers as stated in the recipe so I halved the recipe and it turned out just fine. The recipe also says that you don’t have to process the filled canning jars. I did go ahead and process them because I just wanted to make sure that they would seal properly.

Pepper Relish

Ingredients

  • 2-3 Onions
  • 2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups apple cider vinegar
  • 2 cups sugar
  • Salt to taste (2 tablespoons)
  • 2 (13 oz. bottles) catsup
Wash and chop peppers.  (Be sure and wear gloves when doing this … you’ll be sorry if you don’t!)
Mix all ingredients together and ring to a boil and then let simmer for 20 minutes.  Pour into hot sterilized jars. Add heated lid and ring. Set aside to seal.  (No processing is needed.)

Go pick your peppers and can them.  Come winter time you will be glad you did!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source A Working Pantry

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

