Pumpkin Toffee Gooey Bars

Standard

Hola!

As I sit here writing this I am thinking about my maternal grandmother Concha. She passed away on Wednesday night in Mexico. I am so deeply saddened. She was a wonderful woman with a sweet disposition. We used to spend every summer in Mexico from the time I was a baby until the summer of my 18th Birthday. I loved being there and being with her. She was so sweet and I hardly ever saw her upset or angry. She had a soothing voice and was always there to cheer us up or protect us whenever my mother was angry at us. It will be difficult whenever I go back to Mexico and find that she isn’t there. Descansa en paz, Abuelita. I will always love you!

I have also canned tons of salsa again tonight along with some BBQ sauce. I really hope this is the last of the canning because I am really tired of the darn tomatoes…again, I am sure I will be happy in the winter when I get to eat all the fresh tasting goodies!

The first day of fall this year is Sunday, September 22nd. I absolutely love fall and so do most of my family. It is such a wondrous time of year. To celebrate the upcoming first day of fall I have a delicious fall inspired dessert.

The desserts of fall are awesome. The flavors, the smells…makes my mouth water. I really love the smell of a fall kitchen when there is a sweet dessert in the oven.

Pumpkin Toffee Gooey Bars

Ingredients

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup toffee bits
  • 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk (you can use either regular or fat-free)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9” square pan with foil and spray liberally with cooking spray.
  2. Mix cake mix, pumpkin, egg, pumpkin pie spice, and flour with a hand mixer or stand mixer. Batter will be gooey.
  3. Press half the batter into the prepared pan. I found it easier to spray my hands with cooking spray before pressing so the batter wouldn’t stick to my hands.
  4. Sprinkle pecans and toffee bits over the top of the bottom layer. Pour sweetened condensed milk over evenly over the nuts and toffee bits.
  5. Drop spoonfuls of the remaining dough evenly over the top of the bars. Spray your hands again and press gently to evenly cover.
  6. Bake for about 25 minutes, until they are golden around the edges. Cool completely before slicing. They are easier to cut if you refrigerate them overnight.

These are very filling and heavy so I would suggest cutting them the squares on the smaller side.

Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source crazyforcrust 

 

 

Leave a Reply

