Pancit

Standard

Hola!

Food is such a wonderful thing. It tells the story of your life (kind of like music) and the way something tastes stays with you forever. It is a reminder of where you’ve been and what you’ve done. Does that makes sense to you?

When I was in fifth grade my best friends lived across the street and kiddie corner from us a couple of houses down. We spent so much time together. When I went to their house there was always Pancit. It is the only Filipino food I have ever eaten and it was delicious! It is burned in my memory and in my taste buds. I have not had it since and I felt the need to have some so I looked up a recipe.

The recipe seemed easy enough. It probably is not exactly the same as my friends mom made it but it’s pretty darn close.

The recipe made quite a good amount. Julieta absolutely loved it so I made it twice in a week.

Filipino Pancit

Ingredients
  • 2 lbs. uncooked noodles  (this version used 2 lbs. of thin spaghetti)
  • 4 cups sliced mixed veggies: cabbage, carrots, bell peppers, and green onions
  • 1 lb. lean pork, cut into very small pieces
  • ½ cup oil
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 pork bouillon cube
  • 6 cups water
Directions
  1. Cook noodles al dente.
  2. Brown the pork in the oil with the soy sauce, garlic, and onion.
  3. Add the water and bouillon cube to the pork and bring to a low simmer. Add the vegetables and cook for 5-10 minutes. Add the cooked  noodles and  simmer over low heat until the noodles soak up all the broth.

I couldn’t believe how good this was. It brought back all the memories of being with my best friends and hanging out all summer. I had kept in contact with my friends until about 15 years ago and then I lost track of them. This is where Facebook comes in handy I guess…

Besos,

Flor

Adapted from pinch of yum

Leave a Reply

