Chile Rellenos

Standard

Hola!

Fall, how I love you! I cannot ever get enough of fall and all it’s bounty and blessings!

Every year for fall I decorate the outside of my home (and the indoor too!) for the season. I usually put up my fall decorations then add  the halloween decorations when the time comes. After halloween I remove those decorations and leave up fall decorations. I find that makes it easier and more time efficient for me. It may sound quite scientific but it’s not! This year I didn’t know what to do for my “porchscape”. I had a tin pitcher and a tin vase that were just sitting in the basement and thought they would look nice with the decorations but I thought they looked pretty plain. What to do with them? I pulled out my Cricut and made large Vinyl letters to add to the tin pieces.

The containers started out like this…

And ended up like this. One big letter makes a big difference!

I added those tin containers to my porch and the “porchscape” looks adorable!

I didn’t have the mums in pots yet, but have taken care of that problem!

I have only ever made Chile Rellenos once in my life and it didn’t turn out so well. Instead I would just eat them whenever my mom made them. I never tried making them again until just recently and they were delicious!

It’s like something wrapped in a cuddly blanket!

And inside that cuddly blanket there are onions, tomatoes and gooey cheese!

Chile Rellenos

Ingredients

  • 4 to 6 Poblano Peppers , roasted, peeled and insides removed through a small cut -If the cut is too big you can secure each chile pepper with a toothpick after stuffing. Just remind everyone to be careful and remove the toothpicks!
  • Queso Chihuahua, sliced into long strips
  • 3 Tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 Onion, quartered and seperated
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • Vegetable oil for frying

Directions

  1. Stuff each pepper with tomato, onion and cheese. Don’t fill too much because you want to be able to secure it with a toothpick if need be.
  2. Pour enough oil into a large skillet to measure 1-inch. Heat over medium-high heat.
  3.  Separate the egg whites and yolks. Beat the egg whites, on medium speed of an electric mixer, until nice and fluffy. Beat in egg yolks just until combined.
  4. Place flour in a shallow bowl. Lightly coat stuffed chili peppers with flour.
  5. Dip chili peppers, one at a time, in egg mixture.
  6. Carefully place chili peppers in oil. Fry in oil until golden brown on both sides. Place chili peppers on a paper towel lined plate.

I personally like to slice my chile relleno and make tacos out of them with warm tortillas. These are delicious with rice and/or beans on the side.

Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from La Cocina de Leslie

Leave a Reply

