Basic French Macarons

Standard

Hola!

Happy Friday!

Remember when I posted about my first tasting of a macaron back over the summer? My best friend gifted me with this macaron making kit for my birthday. After I tasted my first macaron I looked up some recipes and they terrified me! Well, let me tell you that I got the nerve to make some! I don’t know about you but when it comes to cooking or baking some things like working with egg whites really scare me.

When I received this gift I was so excited! I got up the nerve and I trekked to Trader Joes and picked up some almond meal and I was ready to bake these pretty little cookies.

These were so easy to make! What was I afraid of? I am a big chicken!

Look at how beautiful they are! I felt like a new mommy when these were all done. I was super proud of myself and of them.

I chose to fill these beautiful babies with Speculous Cookie Dough from Trader Joe’s. AMAZING!!!

Basic French Macarons

Ingredients

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 2/3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup finely ground almonds (I used a cup of almond meal)

Directions

  1. Line a baking sheet with a silicone baking mat.
  2. Beat egg whites in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment until whites are foamy; beat in white sugar and continue beating until egg whites are glossy, fluffy, and hold soft peaks. Sift confectioners’ sugar and ground almonds in a separate bowl and quickly fold the almond mixture into the egg whites, about 30 strokes.
  3. Spoon a small amount of batter into a plastic bag with a small corner cut off and pipe a test disk of batter, about 1 1/2 inches in diameter, onto prepared baking sheet. If the disk of batter holds a peak instead of flattening immediately, gently fold the batter a few more times and retest.
  4. When batter is mixed enough to flatten immediately into an even disk, spoon into a pastry bag fitted with a plain round tip. Pipe the batter onto the baking sheet in rounds, leaving space between the disks. Let the piped cookies stand out at room temperature until they form a hard skin on top, about 1 hour.
  5. Preheat oven to 285 degrees F (140 degrees C).
  6. Bake cookies until set but not browned, about 10 minutes; let cookies cool completely before filling.

I might have let mine brown a bit too much but no matter because they were delicious!!!! It definitely pays to get over the fear of something. I think I will be trying different flavored macarons in the near future.

My only dilemma now is the pronunciation of the word macaron. I was pronouncing it the french way and every has been making fun of me saying it was macaroon ( the coconut kind). Well, I was correct! So I looked all that up on Wikipedia and here it is!

macaron (/mɑːkɑːrɔːn/ mah-kah-rohn;[1] French pronunciation: ​[makaˈʁɔ̃][2]) is a sweet meringue-based confection made with eggsicing sugargranulated sugaralmond powder or ground almond, and food colouring. It is also called Luxemburgerli.[3] The macaron is commonly filled with ganachebuttercream or jam filling sandwiched between two biscuits. The name is derived from the Italian word macaronemaccarone or maccherone, the Italian meringue.

The confection is characterised by smooth, squared top, ruffled circumference (referred to as the “foot” or “pied”), and flat base. It is mildly moist and easily melts in the mouth.[4] Macarons can be found in a wide variety of flavors that range from the traditional (raspberrychocolate) to the new (foie grasmatcha).[5] The fillings can range from jams to ganache to buttercream.

The macaroon is often mistaken as the macaron; many have adopted the French spelling of macaron to distinguish the two items in the English language. However, this has caused confusion over the correct spelling. Some recipes exclude the use of macaroon to refer to this French confection while others think that they are synonymous.[6]

I am a happy girl!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source allrecipes

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

