Kale, Chickpea and Chicken Soup and a Halloween Wreath!

Standard

Hola!

It is totally fall weather! Boot weather! And I just realized I need…ok, I want another pair of boots in a color other than black. The shoe drama never ends for me!

I made a new “wreath” for my door. I have way too many wreaths and definitely need to cutdown. Well, I shouldn’t say that I made it because my husband did all the work. I bought the hollow pumpkin at Michaels using my 50 percent off coupon. I love sales!

My husband cut the pumpkin in half. I used blue painters tape to section off the areas that I did not want to get painted. I used a chevron pattern. My husband then painted the pumpkin for me…Thanks! There were a couple of leaks of paint so if you make a wreath similar to this make sure you pat down your tape really well so that the paint doesn’t run. I made a cute bow using my old fashioned Bow-Dabra (I love that thing!) and tied it to the stem of the pumpkin with the ribbon used to tie the bow together.  So now I have two cute wreaths for about $8. Not bad, not bad at all!

Soup, soup, soup! I love it! This soup was filling, healthy and warmed the bellies! I have really done well in incorporating more veggies into recipes and into searching for recipes that contain more vegetables.

 

Kale, Chickpea and Chicken Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dry garbanzo beans soaked overnight ( or 1 can of garbanzo’s rinsed and strained.)
  • 2 Quarts flavorful chicken stock (8 cups) or veggie stock
  • 1 Cup diced onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 T fresh rosemary
  • 2-4 Cups chopped kale
  • 1-2 cups cooked chicken -shredded or cut into bite sized pieces.
  • 1 to 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • cracked pepper
  • chile flakes (optional)
  • squeeze of lemon
  • 1/2 tsp soy sauce

Directions

Saute onion in 2 T olive oil on med heat until tender, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and rosemary. Saute 2 minutes. Add chicken stock, garbanzo beans and bay leaves, bring to a boil. Cover and simmer on low heat until beans are tender, about 30 minutes. Add chicken and chopped kale. Simmer 10 minutes. Add salt, cracked pepper, soy sauce and a light squeeze of lemon. Taste for salt.

This soup could not have been any easier or any yummier!

Besos,

Recipe source feastingathome

 

Leave a Reply

