Starbucks Pumpkin Pound Cake

Standard

Yay! I made it!

We started pumpkin picking and going to Boo at the Zoo when my two oldest were very young. We continued to go until last year. This year I thought I was going to die! I could not let go of those traditions just because my children have grown up…but I had to! Julian and Julissa are always busy on the weekends  and Julieta says she is too old for that (she will be 13 in a few days!) so there was no way we were all going to go. I have struggled so much with my children growing up, with the changes that it brings on. It seems so much easier for men! UGH! But I am proud to say that this fall season has come upon us and I have not fallen apart!  Maybe one day soon we can make new and different traditions that work for all of us again!

I remember a couple of times going to visit with my sister when she has gone to different cities for work. I loved doing that! It was always a girls trip with me, my sister and two best friends. We haven’t gone on a “mini vacation” in a long time. I remember for breakfast during those trips having a leisurely breakfast at Starbucks with a nice coffee and delicious pastry or piece of bread. Aahhhh How I miss that!  I saw a recipe for some Starbucks Pumpkin Pound Cake and I had to try it!

Just look at it…so inviting and moist; telling me to jump on a plane and go on a mini vacation! Promising me a great start to a super fun day…but then I remember that I am at home and not in New Orleans, Las Vegas, or Los Angeles. Good times, people, good times!

Starbucks Pumpkin Pound Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 c. All Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Ground Cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. Ground Nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 c. Sugar
  • 1/2 c. Fat Free VanillaYogurt
  • 3 Egg Whites
  • 1 c. Canned Pumpkin

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350º. Grease a loaf pan, set aside.
  2. Sift the flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cloves, and nutmeg, into a mixing bowl. Set aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, combine the sugar, yogurt, and egg whites. Whisk thoroughly until blended. Stir in the pumpkin. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture. Stir until completely incorporated.
  4. Pour into pan and bake for 60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  5. Let cool on a wire rack. Makes 8 serving.
  6. Add a powdered sugar glaze or cream cheese frosting if desired.

This  pound cake was so moist and flavorful. I am using up the last of my homemade pumpkin puree that I had frozen last year. I guess from this year on I will be using canned pumpkin. Not that I’m knocking canned pumpkin but I loved picking my own pumpkin then tearing it apart to puree it for delicious homemade goodies. Now all I need to do is open a can! It’s just another downside of not going pumpkin picking! Waaahhh! But life has its changes and I guess we just have to go with the flow of it!

Happy Day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source somethingswanky

 

 

Leave a Reply

