Halloween and Chili

Standard

Hola!

I didn’t write out a full post  on Friday because I was exhausted from Halloween…so here’s a quick recap!

The Halloween excitement started at work! Since I work at an elementary school we dressed up as a team. The office was “The Three Little Pigs”. I didn’t make too bad of a pig. I prefer to think of myself in this picture as Señorita Piggy! I am kind of sad that Halloween is over!

There was so much excitement for Halloween and what happens? It ends up raining all day! My brother and his family came over and so did my cousin and her family. There was a break from the rain for about an hour in the evening so we were able to go trick or treating for a little bit even though we got a bit wet right before getting home! I had bought sooo much candy to pass out and I still have almost all of it because the rain scared all the ghouls! I guess the trick was on me!

I did make some delicious and filling chili for our Halloween dinner. It was delicious! It was definitely comforting after getting a bit soaked with the rain.

The good thing about chili is that is so versatile as far as how you eat it. We also made chili dogs with it.

Friday was definitely exhausting after all the Halloween hoopla. Saturday I cooked almost all day. I made a couple of different things, but the most important was Saturday evening. We celebrated Julieta’s 13th birthday. Her birthday was actually yesterday, but I wanted all three kids home to celebrate along with us and my brother and his adorable baby.

Happy birthday to my wonderful girl! She is my baby and has been a handful since the day she started walking! She is headstrong and smart but sweet at the same time! Maybe now that she is a teenager (the big 13!) she will not be such a handful?

We would have gone out to dinner but everyone is on such different schedules that it was kind of hard so we decided to cook at home to celebrate her birthday. Julieta is obsessed with all things Asian. So we made some Asian food for her! My brother made the fried rice which was amazing and Julieta made the sushi. I just supervised!

Julieta’s sushi was quite good for the first time making it. I am sure there will be lots of practicing.

Since chili is such a filling delicious meal I suggest that all of you make this chili!

Chili by George

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds lean ground beef (I used 1lb. beef and 1 lb. turkey)
  • 1 (46 fluid ounce) can tomato juice
  • 1 (29 ounce) can tomato sauce
  •  (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (15 ounce) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cups chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/4 cup chili powder

Directions 

  1. Place ground beef in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium-high heat until evenly brown. Drain, and crumble.
  2. In a large pot over high heat combine the ground beef, tomato juice, tomato sauce, kidney beans, pinto beans, onions, bell pepper, cayenne pepper, sugar, oregano, ground black pepper, salt, cumin and chili powder. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer for 1 1/2 hours. (Note: If using a slow cooker, set on low, add ingredients, and cook for 8 to 10 hours.)

I am doing a November Photo Challenge on Instagram! It’s a lot of fun so far and pretty educational for me at least! Follow me on instagram to check out the daily pictures! You can find me at @micasayourcasa or on Facebook at Mi Casa is Your Casa

Sorry about all the pictures!I hope you all had a great Halloween and a great weekend too!

Happy Monday!
Besos,
Flor
Leave a Reply

