Chicken Barley Soup and a Fall Wreath

Standard

Hola!

The time change is ridiculous! I would rather get up in the dark and that it be lighter later. When I leave work now it is dark. I just want to get into my pj’s when I get home and go to bed…but that’s not happening! Instead I am trying to get on a new cleaning schedule together. I am also trying to write a weekly list instead of daily list to do in the hopes of doing at least one thing on the list every night after work. I started this Monday night and so far so good!

Towards the end of summer vacation I was looking around trying to figure out what to make a fall wreath out of. Of course I had a bunch of different things and thought why not?

This is not the typical fall wreath but I kind of like that. I love the color of the frame. It was a freebie from my cousin and I had my husband paint it. The beaded fruit I usually just place in a large vase but I had tons of it so I figured I would use some of them on the wreath. And the burlap? It adds a nice fall touch. The glittered letter goes along with the theme of my fall porch…the initial of our last name. You can see a bit of the glue on the fruit but it’s not too bad. Perfect…for me!

Soup. I like it in the summer but I love it in the cold weather! I especially love when it is an easy to make soup like this one.

Not only is this soup delicious but it’s also healthy and very filling. It’s also pretty.

Chicken Barley Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 carrots, diced
  • 4 celery stalks, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, diced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 5 sprigs thyme
  • 1 cup quick-cooking barley
  • 5 ounces (5 cups) fresh baby spinach

Directions

In a large pot, cook carrots, celery and onion in oil just until tender. Add chicken; season with salt and pepper. Cook until chicken turns white on the edges. Add broth and thyme; bring to a boil. Stir in barley. Lower heat and simmer, covered, until barley is tender and chicken is cooked through (10-12 minutes). Add spinach and cook until wilted. Season with salt and pepper before serving.

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source kitchen simplicity

 

 

Leave a Reply

