Breakfast Enchiladas

Standard

Happy Veterans Day!

A great big THANK YOU to all those former or present members of the armed forces. Thank you for sacrificing so much so that we can all be safe. Your service is truly appreciated!

I hope everyone had a great weekend! I did some cooking, a bit of crafting and took a trip to IKEA yesterday. I cannot ever get enough of that place. And don’t get me started on their food…it’s amazing. I could eat there every day if I had to!

My husband went deer hunting last weekend and came home with a deer. Now I have to find easy recipes for him to make. who am I kidding? I will be the one cooking something with venison. I am not too fond of venison at all but I have eaten it on the rare occasion. It is after all one of the cleanest meats around…I’m just not all that into it.

I am really into breakfast as you already know. This particular recipe is a winner! I actually made these breakfast enchiladas towards the end of September or so when we had tons of peppers from the garden right before my husband pulled all the plants.

These were amazing.It’s like magic the way the egg mixture makes it’s way into the rolled goodness! No one else ate any because they were afraid the peppers would be too spicy. They were spicy the first day. If you leave something spicy in the fridge for a day or two some of the spiciness goes away…it just kind of disappears. Weird but true! I was lucky enough to eat this for a couple of days and they were so good that I didn’t mind at all.

Breakfast Enchiladas

Ingredients

  • 2 cups  diced cooked ham
  • 1 bell pepper, diced (I used a variety of peppers)
  • 8 green onions, finely sliced
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 10 eight-inch flour tortillas
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 cups (473 ml) half-and-half
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

Prepeare a 13×9 glass dish by  Lightly spray 13×9-inch (3-quart) glass baking dish with cooking spray

  1. In large bowl, stir together ham, bell pepper, green onions and 1 cup of the cheese. Place 1/3 cup of the ham mixture down the center of each tortilla; roll up and place seam side down in baking dish.
  2. In large bowl, whisk eggs, half-and-half, flour and the salt. Pour over the tortillas. Cover then bake or refrigerate overnight to be baked in the morning.
  3. Heat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C). If made ahead of time, uncover baking dish. Scatter the remaining cup of cheese over enchiladas. Cover baking dish with aluminum foil and bake for 35 minutes. Uncover, and then bake 10 to 15 minutes longer or until set and cheese melted.

I actually put it together and baked right away and it was awesome! This is actually excellent for lunch or dinner too. Maybe if you like spicy food you can make it spicy so that you don’t have to share…

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source www.inspiredtaste.net

2 responses »

  1. I made these tonight. Substituted cooked breakfast sausage for the ham but kept everything else the same. Since this was last minute I didn’t have a chance to let it sit overnight in the fridge before baking. It came out GREAT!! All four of us here loved it. This will become part of our regular rotation. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

