Calabaza en Tacha

Standard

Good Morning!

All of my Thanksgiving grocery shopping is done! If I forget something minor I just change my menu a bit to go with whatever I have on hand. I am definitely not one of those to run out to the store for one item when the lines are super long…I can’t handle that! OK…I usually send my husband if I have to!

For me pumpkin season has come to kind of an end with Thanksgiving dinner. I have a gorgeous pumpkin recipe for you today .

This is delicious! You can have this  candied pumpkin as part of your Thanksgiving meal, dessert or even breakfast!

Calabaza en Tacha

Ingredients

  • 1 pumpkin (about 5lbs)
  • 2lb brown sugar
  • 2lb piloncillo
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 anise star
  • 10 cloves
  • ½ gallon water

Directions

For the caramel:

  1. In a pot add the water, cloves, anise star, cinnamon stick, piloncillo. Bring to a boil, reduce heat; cook until liquid is reduced by half.
  2. Prepare the Pumpkin:
  3. Wash outer skin, cut in 6 to 8 pieces; remove seeds and cut into slices.
  4. Preheat oven to 325 degree
  5. In a roasting pan bake pumpkin with caramel, for approximately  1 hour until pumpkin is tender, you will need to baste every  15 minutes.
  6. Serve warm with caramel.

Make sure you don’t eat the pumpkin skin! My mom makes the same recipe but using sweet potatoes. You would almost think the star of this dish is the pumpkin but I feel that it’s the syrup. It is just delicious and any leftover syrup you have could probably be incorporated into other recipes.

Happy Monday!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source SweetLifeBake

 


Leave a Reply

