Lemony Turkey Soup with Spinach and Orzo

Standard

Hola!

I have all my Christmas decorations up! Yay! I always dreaded it because I had so much. Last year I gave away a lot of stuff.  It’s pretty manageable now. The next thing to do is finish Christmas shopping  and wrap gifts and we are set! I am not totally in the spirit yet but I hope I will get there!

I have totally been craving a turkey sandwich. A sandwich with nice roasted turkey,  thick bread, good cheese and of course real mayonnaise. I think I will roast a turkey breast this weekend so I can take care of that craving. By now most people have had their fill of turkey but not me!

I have this last recipe to use leftover turkey in. It was really good!

Lemony Turkey Soup with Spinach and Orzo

Ingredients

  • 8 cups  turkey stock (you can also use chicken broth)
  • 1 tsp. poultry seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • fresh-ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 T chicken bouillon
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped onion (chopped small)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped celery (chopped small)
  • 1 1/2 cups peeled and chopped carrots
  • 1/2 cup  orzo
  • 3-4 cups diced cooked turkey or chicken (cut a little larger than the vegetables)
  • 2-3 large handfuls coarsely chopped spinach leaves (about 3 oz.)
  • 2 T fresh-squeezed lemon juice

Directions

In a large pot add all ingredients except orzo, spinach and lemon juice. Allow to simmer until carrots are almost cooked (about 20 minutes). Add orzo and simmer for another 20 minutes or so. After orzo is almost cooked add spinach and lemon juice and allow to simmer about another 10 minutes.  Salt to taste. Serve hot or warm!
This was truly a simple soup. The original recipe is for the crock pot but I adapted it and just made it on the stove and it was delicious!
Besos,
Flor
Recipe adapted from Kayln’s Kitchen
Leave a Reply

