Loaded Broccoli Cheese Soup

Standard

Hola!

I hope everyone enjoyed their Christmas! This year’s Christmas was just a bit different from other years. After my grandmother’s passing the rosary was prayed for nine evenings at my aunt’s house. The second to last night was on Christmas Eve. We prayed the rosary and then had Christmas Eve dinner at my aunt’s house. I loved being there! After dinner my siblings came back to my house for our gift exchange and of course to eat again later. We would all be so thin if food wasn’t such a large part of everything! Oh well…

My youngest daughter went home with my brother and his family on Christmas Eve so our house has been quite quiet! Christmas Day was just weird! Ever since my kids were little we would all stay home on Christmas Day so that they could play with their new toys and just hang out together. Since they are older now they each do their own thing. I went to the last day of the rosary then Eddie and I went to the movies. That was the weirdest thing ever to me. I guess as kids  and of course we get older things have to change and evolve and they sure have! We saw “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”. It was a good movie and also a bit strange!

The weather has been perfect for soup so this recipe will keep you nice and full!

Couldn’t get enough of this soup!

Loaded Broccoli Cheese Soup

Ingredients

  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup peeled and chopped carrots, diced small
  • 1 cup chopped celery, diced small
  • 3 cups peeled and chopped potatoes, diced small
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 4-5 cups broccoli crowns, diced small (about 2 heads of broccoli)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 3 cups milk
  • 4 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese (about 16 ounces)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried mustard

Directions

  1. In a large saucepan, combine the chicken broth, carrots, celery, potatoes and onion. Bring the mixture to a boil, cover and simmer for 10 minutes, until the vegetables are starting to get tender.
  2. Add the chopped broccoli. Cover and simmer for another 10 minutes. The pan is going to be very full of vegetables and it might seem like it isn’t “soupy” enough since the vegetables overpower the broth but I promise it will all work out when you add the cheese mixture.
  3. Melt the butter over medium heat in another pan. Whisk in the flour and cook for 1-2 minutes until golden, stirring constantly. Gradually whisk in the milk and cook until the mixture is bubbling and is slightly thickened, 5-7 minutes.
  4. Stir in the cheddar cheese one handful at a time, adding another handful after the cheese that has been added has melted. Stir in the salt, pepper and dry mustard.
  5. Slowly stir the cheese sauce into the hot broth and vegetables, whisking to combine well. Add additional salt and pepper to taste, if needed. If you want the soup a bit thinner, stir in a little extra broth or milk a bit at a time until you get the consistency you are looking for.

This was so good!

Like I mentioned before…everything revolves around food. My daughter wanted me to try a new Asian restaurant so of course myself, her and my best friend had to go yesterday and it was soooo good!

I am not a big fan of Egg Drop Soup but this was absolutely the best I have ever had! The broth was just super rich! The  Lemongrass Spicy Chicken was so tender and had a very soft lemongrass flavor. The Bubble Tea? Perfection!

Aaaahhhh I love being on vacation…

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

 

Leave a Reply

