Coconut Macaroons

Standard

Hola!

I have been very lazy. Lots of sleeping, lots lying around and lots of movie watching. I like those things.

Do you have any New Year Plans? We are not really doing much. We are going out to lunch as a family and then will come home to just hang out.

This holiday I haven’t really done any baking. I usually bake quite a bit but with all the things that went on I just didn’t have the time or the spirit to do it. I was supposed to be in a cookie swap at school but had gotten sick. That left me with like six bags of coconut at home that I could make Coconut Macaroons with. I made one batch  for everyone to enjoy one of the evenings at the Rosary for my grandma. I ended up making a double  batch of coconut macaroons on another day to share some with my neighbors and the rest (at least 3 dozen) were eaten here! That’s a lot of cookies.

Coconut is one of those things that either you like it or you don’t. I like it. If you like coconut then I am sure you will like these delicious, moist, chewy  cookies.

Coconut Macaroons

Ingredients

7 3/4 cups (3, 7 oz packages) sweetened flaked coconut
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (14oz) can sweetened condensed milk
2/3 cup canned cream of coconut
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1 egg

Directions

Heat oven to 350*F.
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat liner.
Sprinkle 1 cup of the coconut onto the prepared baking sheet and bake 5-7 minutes (stir after 3 minutes, then check every minutes or so after) until golden brown.

In a large bowl mix toasted coconut, remaining coconut, flour, and salt.

In a another large bowl mix condensed milk, cream of coconut, vanilla, almond extract and egg. Stir together vigorously with a whisk.

Pour liquid mixture into the bowl of coconut (mixture) and stir until well combined.

Using a 2 Tablespoon cookie scoop, scoop mixture onto a parchment paper lined or silpat lined baking sheet. Use a moist finger to press down any shreds of coconut that are hanging out (otherwise they will burn before the cookies are fully baked).

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from Glorious Treats

 

Leave a Reply

