Peanut Butter Bread

Standard

Hola!

Yesterday there was no school again due to the extreme temperatures.We have been very lucky that everything has gone pretty smoothly here at home during this extreme cold. I know a lot of people whose pipes have burst or whose heaters have gone out.

I had been in my house since Sunday. I felt like an alien from another world who is worried that they will not be able to breathe outside after having been indoors so long! I had a podiatrist appointment yesterday so I had to leave my house. It was cold! And the roads were slippery and dangerous still! But it was worth leaving the house because I now have my orthotics for my gym shoes!!! I am so excited! I hope to soon be able to at least walk for exercise again! Hurry up, spring!

These days that we have been home have been a frenzy of cooking and baking to keep everyone fed! My son was constantly in the kitchen looking for snacks. Since we don’t buy many store-bought snacks I usually bake. Now that I am going back to work today I don’t know what he’s going to do about food! Just kidding! I actually have something in the crock pot going for tonight’s dinner an there are snacks so he doesn’t go hungry!

I made this delicious Peanut Butter Bread for everyone to snack on.

I did not grow up eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches but my children had their fair share as kids.I really have to have a craving to eat one but I know some people who eat PBJ everyday! How do they do it? This was yummy! The bread itself is not really sweet and the peanut butter flavor is not overpowering. It’s when you put some jelly, jam or marmalade that the magic happens and all the delicious flavors come out!

Peanut Butter Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Cream peanut butter and sugar together in the bowl of an electric mixer or by hand.  Stir in milk, egg and melted butter.  In a small bowl combine flour, baking powder and salt and mix well with a whisk.  Pour dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix to combine.  Dough will be thick.  Spoon into a greased 10x4x4-inch loaf pan.  Bake for 55 to 60 minutes at 300 degrees. Remove from oven to rack and let cool in pan ten minutes, then remove from pan and allow to cool completely before slicing.  Serve with your favorite jam, jelly or marmalade. Makes one loaf.

This makes a delicious snack or even breakfast!

I hope today goes smoothly. After being off for 18 days (including weekends) I am ready to get back on schedule. It will be hard getting used to not taking a nap or having a snack whenever I want but I think I can do this! As the weather warms up it will also be easier to get up earlier!

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source Pots and Pins

Leave a Reply

