Smothered Pork Chops

Standard

Hey!

Finally, a weekend with ok weather!

It was a bit quiet around here. My son left for spring break and I am a hot nervous wreck! He scrimped and saved to go on his dream vacation. He is in London and then going to Paris for a day. This is the first time he’s ever been somewhere on spring break and he was so excited! It was all he has talked about since about Christmas. I am so happy that my children are doing so much more than I have ever done, but as bad as it sounds I’m kind of jealous. I am dying to go to Paris. Maybe one day I will make it there!

Yesterday we went to brunch at a restaurant that we usually go for to dinner. The food was amazing! There were all sorts of breakfast foods, an omelet station, meat carving station, seafood, salads, several types of chicken and the best dessert table ever. I definitely think I over ate . This was the only meal of the day for me!

This was the first time I have ever tried oysters and they were delicious! I should have had more of them! i couldn’t have brunch without having a Bloody Mary! We may have to change birthday celebrations from dinner to brunch!

When I was growing up we had plenty of pork chops. The only way my mom spiced them up was with salt. She always added oil or lard to the pan even though most pork chops have plenty of fat to not have to add any more fat to the pan. Needless to say they were crispy and greasy and finger lickin’ good!

I have taken a different approach to making pork chops. I don’t add extra fat or oil if I don’t have to.  I try to cook a lot healthier and with a more open menu than my mom did…no offense to my mom!

These pork chops were so good! I love meaty, boneless pork chops!

Since I was going to Zumba later after dinner I chose to just make white rice to have with the chops. I needed something easy and quick.

Smothered Pork Chops

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons onion powder
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 pork chops, 3/4-inch thick, bone-in ( I used boneless chops)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • Chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, for garnish (optional)

Directions


Put the flour in a shallow platter and add the onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne, salt, and pepper; mix with a fork to distribute evenly. Pat the pork chops dry with paper towels to remove any moisture and then dredge them in the seasoned flour; shaking off the excess.

Heat a large saute pan or cast iron skillet over medium heat and coat with the oil. When the oil is nice and hot, lay the pork chops in the pan in a single layer and fry for 3 minutes on each side until golden brown. Remove the pork chops from the pan and add a little sprinkle of seasoned flour to the pan drippings. Mix the flour into the fat to dissolve and then pour in the chicken broth in. Let the liquid cook down for 5 minutes to reduce and thicken slightly. Stir in the buttermilk to make a creamy gravy and return the pork chops to the pan, covering them with the sauce. Simmer for 5 minutes until the pork is cooked through. Season with salt and pepper and garnish with chopped parsley before serving if you like.

Delicious and definitely not greasy!

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source Food Network-Tyler Florence

 

Leave a Reply

