Irish Soda Bread Muffins

Standard

Hola!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

It was another quiet weekend. I had a great dinner out on Friday at a Spanish restaurant with my cousins. It’s nice sometimes just catch up with family  that you love so much but don’t get to see too often. Saturday I kind of cleaned and paced around the house waiting for my son to get home from London. I was very relieved the minute he walked into the house. He had a great time and is ready to go back! He spoiled me rotten and bought me several gifts. These are two of the gifts that I absolutely love!

My son said that he was sick the one day he went to Paris and that he didn’t get to enjoy the food at all. I felt so bad for him! He brought me this adorable mug and macarons! These are so good and sinful. I am only going to eat one a day and savor them!

I think it’s true that everyone has a little Irish in them! I didn’t celebrate in any way other than by making these delicious Irish Soda Bread Muffins. They have a nice crust on the outside and the inside is so fluffy and soft.

I don’t really know if these muffins are for breakfast or is supposed to accompany a meal. I guess it doesn’t really matter because they are delicious!

Irish Soda Bread Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into bits
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup raisins

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Line a 12-cup standard muffin tin with paper liners; set aside. (If you don’t want to use paper liners, you could coat a muffin pan with cooking spray instead.)

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Add the cold butter and toss to coat, using your fingers to work the butter into the dry ingredients until it resembles coarse crumbs.

In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk and egg.

Pour mixture over dry ingredients and stir using a rubber spatula just until moist.

Add the raisins and gently toss to combine.

Scoop the batter evenly into the muffin tray.

Place into oven and bake for 20 minutes, or until a tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.

A cup of coffee would be perfect with these muffins. Enjoy!

Luck of the Irish to all of you!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from Damn Delicious

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

