Refried Beans (Frijoles Guisados or Refritos)

Standard

Hola!

It’s the end of the week and the weekend weather is supposed to be amazing! I can’t wait! I am definitely opening my windows this weekend to let some fresh air circulate through this house! I think the last time my windows were open was in October.

Today I am sharing my recipe for Refried Beans. Last Friday I posted the basic recipe for frijoles de la olla or beans from the pot. To make these refried beans you will be using that basic recipe. Refried beans are really easy to make so I hope that I explain it all properly! My only questions about these beans is why would they be called refried when they are only “fried” once? Weird!

After cooking your Frijoles de la Olla (if you are using them when they are cold I like to heat them up along with the broth in a big pot or in the microwave).

Heat up about 3-5 tablespoons of vegetable or olive oil in a large pot. You can also use lard which makes the beans taste even more amazing!

When the oil is hot add 4 cups of the strained beans-no broth. You can leave the garlic and onion from the basic recipe in them if you like.

Stir them up a bit so the oil or lard gets incorporated. Take a potato masher and work your arms out by mashing the beans to a rough consistency. My personal preference is a rough mash where you can tell that these are beans—I don’t like the totally pureed kind of beans. Add a bit of broth as you mash the beans so that it is easier to mash

After a good mash add 3-4 cups of the reserved bean broth and give them a good stir. Allow the beans to simmer for about 10-15 minutes. After the 10 or 15 minutes these are considered Frijoles Caldosos. I am not sure of the translation but maybe brothy beans? They will have the consistency of maybe a thicker soup. At this point you can eat them as they are in a bowl with tortillas or as a side dish with something like Chile Colorado and Rice.

If you let the beans simmer until the broth thickens more and allow them to just sit in the pot for a while they will thicken up and get I guess you could say dryer. These are Refried Beans.

I usually like to add shredded Chihuahua Cheese when I am simmering my beans but my husband prefers them without the cheese mixed in.   I  garnish the refried beans with the cheese or add salsa or pico de gallo. Again these beans can be used as a main dish on their own or in a recipe or  as side dish.The longer the beans sit whether on the stove or in the fridge they will get dryer which will also allow for use in different recipes.These beans can be eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure you store leftovers in the fridge.

It seems so hard for me to explain something so simple. I hope I was able to give you a good overview on making refried beans.

Happy Friday!

Besos,

Flor

 

Leave a Reply

