Farmers Market Risotto-No Meat Friday

Standard

Hola!

It’s Good Friday . Easter came pretty late this year and here we are already! I usually host Easter but this year I am not. I have a day trip planned for tomorrow and I won’t have time to prepare anything for Sunday! More than likely we will be hanging out at my parents house hiding Easter eggs for the kids and eating Chinese food…It works for me!

Today is  actually even house cleaning day.-which for some odd reason doesn’t get me all excited.I don’t know about anyone else but I am kind of tired of cleaning. I’ve had my own home for 26 years and I feel like I am cleaned out!It’s just such a never ending thing. The problem is that I really like a clean house so I guess I am never going to stop cleaning!

Today is the last No Meat Friday recipe for this season. Rice is one of my very favorite things to eat. It doesn’t matter how it’s prepared as long as it’s good. This Farmers Market Risotto is delicious!

The good thing about this delicious recipe is that you can find all the vegetables year round at the grocery store  not just in the summer at the farmers market.

Farmers Market Risotto

Ingredients

  • 3 – 3-1/2 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth)
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt & pepper
  • 3/4 cup arborio rice
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 small zucchini, quartered and chopped (about 1 cup)
  • 1 large tomato, seeded and chopped (about 1 cup)
  • 1 ear sweet corn, kernels cut from cob (about 3/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • handful torn fresh basil

Directions:

  1. Bring chicken broth to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce heat to low and keep hot.
  2. In a large skillet, melt butter over medium heat then add green onions, season with salt and pepper, and then saute until tender, about 3 minutes. Add garlic then saute for 30 more seconds.
  3. Add rice then stir to coat in butter. Add wine then stir until nearly absorbed by rice. Add 1/2 cup chicken broth then stir constantly until broth is absorbed. Continue adding broth, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly until nearly absorbed before adding more.
  4. When there’s 1/3 of the broth remaining, add zucchini, season with more salt and pepper, then continue stirring. When there’s 1/4 of the broth left, add corn then continue stirring. Add the tomatoes with the last batch of broth then stir until absorbed.
  5. Take risotto off heat then stir in parmesan cheese and basil. Add more salt & pepper to taste then serve.

The first time I ever made risotto was about fifteen years ago and I was terrified. I thought it was going to be so complicated and scary. Quite the contrary-it’s simple and delicious! I love the creaminess of risotto! It’s perfect as a side dish or even a maind dish.

Happy Easter, friends! Have a wonderful weekend!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source Iowa Girl Eats

 

Leave a Reply

