Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

Standard

Hola!

Even though I had to work Saturday it was a great weekend! After work Saturday we had a party to attend for my cousins son who is going to the Air force. I had such a great time. I danced all night with my cousins and then had the best partner ever…my nephew! He was so into the dancing and I love that! Since it was mostly family and friend in attendance we weren’t even embarrassed to do some corny dances like the Shopping Cart and the Fishing Rod!

Yesterday was all about running errands, cooking and hanging out here at home.

I don’t know about you but the older I get the less sweets I eat. When I was younger I ate TONS of sweets. I loved cakes, cookies and other sweets. I still like them but just don’t crave them as much as then. When I was pregnant with my son after all my morning sickness had passed I used to eat a chocolate bar every day at my three o’clock break time. I’m glad I am over that! I don’t remember the last time I ate an entire chocolate bar.

Once in a while I still have to give in to a craving and these Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins totally fulfill it.

These moist muffins were delicious with a glass of milk.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients

 

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1½ cups granulated sugar
  • ½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ teaspoon espresso powder, optional
  • ¾ cup buttermilk
  • ½ cup butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup semi-sweet, milk, or dark chocolate chocolate chips

Directions

 

  • Preheat the oven to 350°F. Spray muffin tin with nonstick cooking or baking spray or line with baking cups.
  • Whisk together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and espresso powder, if using.
  • In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the cocoa, flour, sugar, baking powder, espresso powder, baking soda, salt and chocolate chips. Set aside.
  • Pour buttermilk into a large measuring cup. Add melted butter, eggs and vanilla and whisk together with a fork.
  • Pour buttermilk mixture into flour mixture and stir together with a spoon. Stir in most of chocolate chips, reserving a few to sprinkle on top as decoration.
  • Scoop muffin batter into prepared muffin tin and sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips.
  • Bake for 16-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean. Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly before removing from the muffin tin for serving.

These would make a great breakfast, look beautiful on a brunch buffet or would work as a delicious snack.

Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source Add a Pinch

 

Leave a Reply

