Enfrijoladas on Cinco de Mayo

Standard

Hola!

Happy Cinco de Mayo! I realize that many people go out and celebrate Cinco de Mayo. I have never gone out to celebrate because I feel like I celebrate every day when I cook delicious Mexican meals. I celebrate when I hear Mexican music-which is everyday! I celebrate when I speak Spanish which is everyday. I feel absolutely blessed to have such a rich and wonderful heritage and there is no better way to celebrate that heritage than by delicious food!

These Enfrijoladas are delicious and are actually super easy to make. It’s funny that when you use what might be considered the simplest of ingredients that you can make such a delicious meal

You can use all sorts of fillings for Enfrijoladas such as chicken, ham,beef, or pork  but I prefer just cheese. You can cave them for breakfast, lunch or dinner. You can have them as a main dish or a side dish.

 

Enfrjoladas

Ingredients

4 cups frijoles caldosos, or seasoned and pureed beans.

16 corn tortillas

1 cup queso fresco, or shredded Chihauahua cheese

Toppings such as sliced avocado, Mexican crema or sour cream, salsa, pico de gallo

Directions

Heat a comal or dry skillet over medium heat.

Taking one tortilla at a time, heat on the comal or skillet for about 30 seconds per side. Take the tortilla with a pair of tongs and immerse it in the bean puree. Place it on a plate and sprinkle some cheese on one side and fold it as if it were a quesadilla or a turnover.  Top with your favorite toppings and devour!

These are best eaten right after they are made. I love them with pico de gallo which has the colors of the Mexican flag.

I also wanted to share with you an article written by Anthony Bourdain — Thank you, Anthony!

http://anthonybourdain.tumblr.com/post/84641290831/under-the-volcano

I want to be his sidekick soooo bad. He is such a bad*** and he just seems so real. Enjoy the article and Happy Cinco!

Besos,

Flor

 

Leave a Reply

