Sausage Breakfast Casserole

Standard

Hey!

I will be off on vacation for a while soon and I can’t wait! It was a pain in the butt packing but it’s all done! I can’t wait! I haven’t been on vacation for eight years so I am totally due for for one!

I will be hanging out in Mexico with my youngest, my nephew and my Dad. We aren’t going to a resort or anything like that. There will still be grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning and laundry but at such a different pace. I can’t wait to spend the days at the river reading while the kids go fishing. I love hiking in Mexico but I hope my feet hold up! Or even just hanging out at home reading and being a little lazy. Maybe we’ll jump on the bus and go to the next two bigger cities/towns to shop and look around. I am so excited! I am posting in advance so I hope everything works while I am gone as getting WiFi may be difficult there  or I may have to go to the “internet cafe”.  I am so used to using technology everyday that I can’t imagine being without it. I hope I can find a way to use instagram!

I really enjoy making breakfast casseroles because it’s just easier (even though I miss pancake weekends when my kids were young). This one was really good.

I tried to be healthier by using wheat bread but when I was trying to pack for vacation and realized that nothing fit I realized that using the wheat bread didn’t help me at all! Apparently I should do exercise too! And make much better food choices!

Sausage Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients

  • 10 slices bread, cubed (I used wheat bread)
  • 1 lb. ground pork sausage, cooked, drained, and crumbled
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 small can (6.5 ounces) sliced mushrooms, drained
  • 6 to 8 eggs (baking time may be a little longer with 8 eggs)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Cook sausage in skillet and drain well. Grease a 9 x 13″ baking dish, and place bread cubes in bottom of pan. Layer cooked and crumbled sausage over bread, then the mushrooms, and then the cheese. In a medium bowl, mix together the eggs, milk, dry mustard, onion powder, and salt. Pour egg mixture over layered ingredients in pan. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning, let the casserole stand at room temperature for 10-15 minutes while you preheat your oven to 350 degrees;  bake the casserole for 45 minutes or until set. If the top looks like it’s browning too quickly, cover it with foil while it finishes baking. Let stand about 5 minutes before serving.

Happy Day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source Nancy Creative 

Leave a Reply

