Cheesy Zucchini Rice

Standard

Hey!

I think I have told you many times how much I love food and I really love rice. It’s just so versatile. I have never thought of pairing zucchini with rice but when I saw this recipe I figured I would try it and see how my family feels about it. They loved it. I was quite surprised.

It’s cheesy and the zucchini adds a bit of healthiness?

Cheesy Zucchini Rice

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 medium or 2 small zucchini, grated
  • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • splash of milk, as needed

 

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat.
Add the rice and stir to coat. Toast the rice, stirring often, just until it starts to turn golden.
Pour in the chicken broth, bring to a boil, turn heat to low, and cover.
Cook, covered, for 15 – 20 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed.
Remove from the heat and add the butter, grated zucchini, cheddar, and garlic powder. Stir until well incorporated. Cover and let sit for 5 minutes.
Stir again and add salt and pepper to taste and a splash of milk if you’d like to thin out the texture a little bit.

This was delicious! If you have young children this would definitely be a hit with them! If you want you could probably swap the chicken broth with vegetable broth to make it totally vegetarian too!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source Buns in my Oven

 

Leave a Reply

