Vinegar Based Coleslaw

Standard

Hey!

How’s it going? Anything exciting going on? Have you gotten to go on vacation? My vacation has come to an end and I should be on my way home about now. I had not been to Mexico in about eight years. How lucky am I to have gone back? Super lucky! Some of the best vacations I have ever had have been with my Dad in Mexico. When he said he wanted as many of us to go as possible it seemed that I was the only one going. I treasure the memories I have spent with my Dad, just sitting on the porch drinking coffee and eating some pan dulce. I love watching the kids trying to help my dad do yard work or something and they just end up playing around and getting my Dad angry…sorry, Dad! I love to shop.  When I go to any tiendita just to check it out my Dad just waits for us in the plaza. He hates to shop. The memory of my my Dad taking us to the rancho and telling us which house belonged to who in the past…priceless! It’s also about my children. I am so glad that they know where we come from. Letting them play in the dirt…amazing moments. Letting them go swimming and fishing in the river. Checking out the old cemeteries…educational. Just being together in the place where my parents, their parents, and so on grew up. My Dad, my children and I have been stuck at the hip many times on vacation to Mexico and I am grateful for every single minute. Thanks, Dad and kids for the memories!

Let’s talk about coleslaw? Are you a fan? To tell you the truth I am not a fan of creamy coleslaws. I love vinegar based coleslaw. I don’t make coleslaw that often so when I found this recipe I made it just for myself.

When I made the coleslaw I happened to make some pulled pork sandwiches too. So why not just pile it on the sandwich? Delicious and tangy. I love tangy!

 

Vinegar Based Coleslaw

Ingredients

  • 1/2 thinly sliced head of green cabbage
  • 1 cup of thinly sliced red cabbage
  • 2 whole shredded carrots
  • 3 thinly sliced green onions
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon of grainy mustard
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of celery seed
  • Kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In a small bowl whisk together vinegar, mustard, honey and olive oil and set aside. In a separate bowl mix together cabbages, carrots, green onions and celery seed. Next, pour a small amount of the dressing on the cabbage mixture and mix together until combined and until desired amount of dressing is achieved. Season with salt and pepper and chill before serving.

This would be great at a BBQ!

Besos,

Flor

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

