One Pot Andouille Sausage Skillet Pasta & Vacation

Standard

Hola!

I am back from vacation. Wow! I never realized that five weeks is actually a long time to be away from home! I had a very relaxing and restful vacation. We did a whole lot of nothing! There was sleeping in, late breakfasts, naps, ice cream every day, lots of pop drinking and so many other things! Who wouldn’t want  nature and a river about  a five-minute walk from home? It was marvelous. We primarily stayed in the town where my parents live and went away for a weekend in the “big” city to do some sight-seeing. I am so grateful to my Dad for allowing us to stay with him. We all enjoyed many, many hours sitting on the porch talking or just being. We ate all sorts of food and snacks. I actually ate the best burgers ever there. I am going to try to re-create them. I am looking forward to going back soon! To check out some of my vacation pictures look for me on instagram at micasayourcasa. Or look for me on Facebook at Mi Casa is Your Casa.

Here are just a few of my vacation pictures.

This makes me want to cry! What natural beauty!

This was our backyard…a five minute walk to the river.

This was at the Plaza de Armas in the City of Durango, Durango, Mexico. Our weekend trip there was full of food and sightseeing. There was no time to rest!

Here I am at a night time cemetery tour…

This is the best hamburger in the world…It may not be the prettiest but it will make you dance for more!

I will probably be adding more pictures to instagram so go ahead and check them out.

Today was my first day at my new school as secretary. I am so excited and am ready to tackle it all! The next few weeks will be an adventure and I am ready for it!

I have a recipe for you today! This is so cheesy it is almost sinful!

One Pot Andouille Sausage Skillet Dinner

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 (12.8-ounce) package smoked andouille sausage, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 8 ounces elbows pasta
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup shredded pepper jack cheese

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic, onion and sausage, and cook, stirring frequently, until sausage is lightly browned, about 3-4 minutes.
  • Stir in chicken brown, tomatoes, milk and pasta; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Bring to a boil; cover, reduce heat and simmer until pasta is cooked through, about 12-14 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and top with cheese. Cover until cheese has melted, about 2 minutes.
  • Serve immediately.

I had never had Andouille Sausage and it was mighty tasty!

I have to say that food in Mexico is so much simpler…I think I might have lost a pound or two and am sure I will be gaining it back if I start eating foods like this delicious one pot meal!

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

 

 

Recipe Source Damn Delicious

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

