Citrus Cranberry Layer Cake

Standard

Hola!

It’s been a while! I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I was kept pretty busy. Last Wednesday was dessert day. I had Wednesday off so I baked all the sweets that day.

On Thursday I made the most delicious turkey along with side dishes of course. The turkey was amazing and my husband laughed because I took pictures…duh…what else do I do?

I hate sticking my hand in the turkey but I have to…I seasoned the turkey with sazon, stuffed it with peas and corn and put butter under the skin…

Then I wrapped that baby in bacon…

Who doesn’t love a bacon wrapped turkey?

It looked beautiful and tasted even better!

Golden and tasty! There was a lot of eating going on.

Dessert was delicious as well. This Citrus Cranberry Cake was my favorite. Not only is it pretty but it’s delicious!

I have to admit that I was afraid to make this dessert. Knowing that there would be three layers is what scared me! but I pulled it off!

Citrus Cranberry Layer Cake

Ingredients

Citrus Cake
    • 3/4 cup  room temperature butter
    • 1 3/4 cups  sugar
    • 3 eggs
    • 1 tsp lemon extract
    • 2 1/2 cups  all purpose flour
    • 2 1/2 tsp  baking powder
    • 1/2 tsp salt
    • 3/4 cup  milk
    • 1/2 cup orange juice (freshly squeezed)
Cranberry sauce
    • 12 oz fresh cranberries
    • 1 cup  sugar
    • 1/3 cup orange juice
Icing
    • 1/2 cup powder sugar
    • 2 tsp water
    • few drops of lemon juice
Decorations
  • mandarin slices (I used cuties)
  • powder sugar

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 375F.
  2. Grease the bottom and the sides of a 15 x 10  inch jelly roll pan and line with parchment paper. Set aside.
  3. In a mixing bowl add the butter and the sugar and cream until light and fluffy. Scrape the sides of the bowl and one by one, add the 3 eggs followed by the lemon extract.
  4. Add the baking powder and salt and slowly fold in the flour alternately with the milk and orange juice.
  5. Spoon the batter into the prepared baking pan and bake for about 23 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  6. While the cake is baking, make the cranberry sauce.
  7. In a medium saucepan add the cranberries, sugar and orange juice. Cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes or until all the cranberries have popped and the sauce is thickened.
  8. Leave to cool completely.
  9. When the citrus cake is done, take it out of the oven and leave to cool 10 minutes in the pan. Sprinkle powder sugar on top of the cake, cover with a cutting board and turn. This way you’ll be able to remove the cake from the pan without breaking it into pieces or sticking to the cutting board.
  10. Remove the parchment paper, rip the edges and slice the cake in 3 slices (about 4 3/4 inch each slice) Wait until the cake and the cranberry sauce are completely cooled
  11. Place the first slice on the serving plate. Spoon half on the cranberry sauce on top of the cake and spread it all over. Top with a second slice of cake and spread the remaining cranberry sauce.
  12. Place the 3rd slice of cake on top and let sit for 10-15 minutes. You can refrigerate at this point, if you prefer.
  13. Now it’s time to make the icing.
  14. In a small bowl mix the powder sugar with the water and the lemon juice. You want the icing to be still pour-able but not too runny.
  15. Pour it over the cake, wait few minutes until it sets and decorate with the mandarin slices.
  16. Optional you can sprinkle some powder sugar.

Enjoy! This is a good dessert for Christmas as well!

The other days were for resting and visiting my parents. We put up our Christmas decorations and saw the movie Interstellar on Friday…I was the only one that wasn’t a fan of that movie. Saturday was spent at home hanging out. Yesterday was also a quiet day at home and for visiting my parents and here it is Monday already. Those days off just flew by! One last note or favor…my mom is still sick. She hasn’t gotten much better and we need prayers for her. Think you can help me out with that? I’d appreciate it!

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source Roxana’s Home Baking

 

Leave a Reply

