Copycat Panera Mac and Cheese

Standard

Hey!

How’s it going? I have been sick all week and I am sooo exhausted. I am counting down the days to winter break so that I can get some rest. I haven’t even taken pictures of my kids for our handmade Christmas cards. I am behind in so many things.

With my mom having been sick (she is slowly recuperating) I have been going through so many emotions. It’s been a bit rough and I am at a point in my life where I am questioning so many things. Should I continue my blog? Should I go on another diet? If I ever get sick will my kids take care of me? So many questions. Life isn’t perfect, certainly not mine. Why do I try to make it perfect? Nobody has the perfect life…

While I let destiny and life choices take care of these questions I am going to talk about cheese. I looove cheese. I don’t buy fancy cheeses even though they are probably delicious. I eat normal  everyday cheeses. My Dad has always loved Muenster cheese-and so have I. Whenever Muenster cheese is on sale he will buy me like two pounds of it sliced. He is an enabler-then he tells me not to eat so much! Gotta love him! When I make Mexican food (the real deal) and it calls for cheese it has to be Chihuahua cheese. It’s so good and very similar to Mozzarella cheese. About three weeks ago my husband bought a one pound brick of White Cheddar cheese. He said that when he was at Costco he saw it and though of me…gee thanks! I kept eating little pieces of it until it was almost gone. I figured I would make some Mac & Cheese and share the pounds with everyone else.

Every time we go to Panera Julieta has the Mac & Cheese so why not make a copycat recipe of it?

This Mac & Cheese was so cheesy and creamy.

Copycat Panera Macaroni & Cheese

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 cup shredded white cheddar (I used Cabot seriously sharp cheddar)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 1lb, pasta, cooked (cavatapppi, shells, or elbow)

Directions

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions while making the sauce. Drain and set aside until ready to use.
  2. In a large pot on medium high heat, add butter until melted. Whisk in the flour and cook for about one minute. Reduce heat to medium and add milk, heavy cream, salt, dry mustard and pepper. Continue whisking until it begins to bubble. Reduce to low and add white cheddar. Stir until melted. Add cooked pasta, stirring until combined. Remove from heat and allow to sit about 5 minutes to thicken. Season with additional salt and pepper if desired.

This is a quick easy recipe that everyone will like! It could be a main dish or a side dish.

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source Shugary Sweets

 

Leave a Reply

