Atole de Galletas Marias

Standard

Hey!

I am in count down mode to winter break! I have been finishing up some Christmas shopping and trying to wrap gifts so that I don’t need to do all this once my break starts! I am almost done!

How many of you have tried atole? I don’t even know how to describe what it is so I looked it up on Wikipedia and this is what it says:

Atole (Mexican SpanishAbout this sound a’tole , from Nahuatl ātōlli /aːˈtoːlːi/) is a traditional hot corn and masa based beverage ofMexican and Central American origin (where it is known as atol). Chocolate atole is known as champurrado or atole. It is typically accompanied with tamales, and very popular during the Christmas holiday season (Las Posadas).

The drink typically includes masa (corn hominy flour), water, piloncillo (unrefined cane sugar), cinnamon, vanilla and optional chocolate or fruit. The mixture is blended and heated before serving. Atole is made by toasting masa on a comal (griddle), then adding water that was boiled with cinnamon sticks. The resulting blends vary in texture, ranging from a porridge to a very thin liquid consistency. Atole can also be prepared with rice, flour, or oatmeal in place of masa. In northern Mexico, there is also a variation using pinole (sweetened toasted corn meal). Although atole is one of the traditional drinks of the Mexican holiday Day of the Dead, it is very common during breakfast and dinnertime at any time of year. It is usually sold as street food.

I have to admit that I have never been a big fan of atole. I don’t even know why I wasn’t a fan. My son really likes it so now that he is home for break I will be making it for him in different flavors. One of the only things my mom has been able to drink/eat while she has been sick is atole. So I figured I would try making one that I might like too. So why not try making one with the most famous Mexican cookie ever? Galletas Marias (by Gamesa)!
This was so good! I believe I may have not liked my mom’s atole (sorry, mom!) because she has always made the same one…oatmeal. There are so many different flavors to make! This drink (any flavor of it) will warm you up and actually fill your belly! And that mug? Love it! I brought about four of them  from Mexico this summer and I wish I had brought more.
Atole de Galletas Marias
Ingredients

  • 1 pkg. (4.9 oz) Marias cookies (I use Gamesa brand)
  • 8 cups of milk, divided
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2/3 to 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

Break the Maria’s cookies into pieces and let soak in 3 cups milk in a blender cup for 5 minutes; puree until smooth. Heat the 5 remaining cups of milk and the cinnamon stick in a 3-quart pot over medium heat until very warm. Pour in the cookie puree and stir to combine. Continue to cook, stirring constantly, for about 5 minutes or until the atole has started to thicken slightly. Sweeten with desired amount of sugar. Ladle into mugs.
Recipe Source La Cocina de Leslie

 

Leave a Reply

