One Pot Sausage, Tomato and Pesto Pasta & Hair

Standard

Hola!

Brrrrr! It’s cold here! I am home due to school closings today because of the cold. I figured I would spend the day studying and catching up on some organizing. I studied until I got a headache. I am baking a bit then will go and organize. There will be more studying this evening too!

I don’t usually share product opinions here on my blog but I absolutely have to share this one because I love it so! I received a sample of Carol’s Daughter Styling Creme in my Ipsy  monthly subscription before I went on vacation this past June. I took it with me figuring it was small and a great time to try something new. OMG! I haven’t stopped using it!

I have very fine hair and have always used gel to keep my hair up in a ponytail. That gel left my hair hard, too shiny looking and flaky when I brushed it out. This styling creme leaves my hair still soft and natural looking yet keeps my hair in place.And no flakes! It’s a bit pricey for me (about $13.00 for 3 oz.) but so worth it! I have since thrown out all the hair gels I had! I just had to share some information on this awesome product! Just FYI I did not receive any compensation (or free product) for this post. This is solely my opinion.

Let’s talk sustenance! Yesterday I wanted to cook something quick and easy! This recipe was just the thing!

This was done in no time. It gave me extra time to do some organizing and even watch TV and take a nap! Imagine that! It was delicious! There was enough leftover for today though it was a bit drier. It still tasted delicious!

One Pot Sausage, tomato and Pesto Pasta

Ingredients

  • 1-1½ lbs sausage, casing removed (I used turkey Italian sausage)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1½ tsp salt
  • 5 cups dry rotini pasta (or other short pasta-I used penne)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes, drained slightly
  • 2 tsp basil pesto
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese
  • ½ cup parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. In a large pot, crumble sausage and cook over medium-high heat until browned. Add garlic and salt and cook 1 minute.
  2. Add pasta, broth, milk, tomatoes, and pesto and bring to a boil over medium heat. Cook, stirring frequently, for about 10-12 minutes until pasta is cooked and liquid has reduced and thickened. Stir in cheese.
  3. If there’s still quite a bit of liquid in the pasta, let sit for 4-5 minutes and it will continue to thicken. If your liquid has reduced before your pasta has cooked, add in a small amount of liquid and continue cooking.

Easy Peasy! This was delicious and I think would make a nice filling meal for a group if you double or triple the recipe.

If you are somewhere cold-stay warm. If you are somewhere warm-enjoy that awesome weather!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe source The Recipe Rebel

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

