Simple Coconut Chicken Curry

Standard

Happy Monday!

Happy Martin Luther King Day…peace to everyone!

I have been super busy studying. I feel like I am so old that I can’t remember anything anymore…but I am still studying. I have not really been cooking so that I can make time to study. I just started crafting again over the weekend. I hadn’t crafted in a while so I had to get back into it. I feel like my life is at a standstill. Like all I should do is study and I am a nervous wreck!

Let’s talk about something everyone likes! FOOD!

I enjoy trying all sorts of food. There’s just soooo much out there to try. I have had Pakistani food and I think it’s delicious. Indian food? I have never tried it. Japanese food? Not really either. A couple of weeks ago I made this delicious Simple Coconut Chicken Curry. Julissa’s boyfriend asked me if it was Indian curry or Japanese curry. I could not answer that question! I believe it might depend on the type of curry used? I just kept on cooking! I am quite sure that the curry made by other ethnicities is more complicated and tastes a hundred times better but I made it anyways and it was pretty good.

I served the curry over rice and naan. I probably didn’t need to eat both but I did…

Simple Coconut Chicken Curry

Ingredients

  • 2 (about 1 pound) boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into small bite size pieces
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 can coconut milk (I used regular, but lite works great)
  • 3 tablespoons red curry paste
  • ½ tablespoon cornstarch dissolved in 2 tablespoons cold water

Directions

In a medium size pan over medium-high heat add peanut peanut oil. Toss the chicken with the curry powder and saute until cooked, about 5-8 minutes. Remove from pan and set aside.

In the same pan add more oil if needed and saute the garlic and ginger. After a few minutes, add the coconut milk and let simmer for 5-8 minutes .Add the curry paste to the pan and stir it until it combines with the coconut milk. Slide back in the chicken and any juices. Bring to a slight boil and add the cornstarch. Boil for about a minute, then reduce heat and let cool slightly (about another 2 to three minutes). Sauce will thicken as the mixture cools. Watch it closely, you do not want it to get to thick!

Serve over white or brown rice.

I thought this was delicious! I used a very mild curry even though I probably would prefer a spicy curry.

Enjoy the day!

Besos,

Flor

Adapted from Half Baked Harvest

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

