Aji

Standard

Hola!

I hope everyone has been doing well and enjoyed their Easter! My brothers families and mine all got together at my parents house to eat and laugh as usual!

The weather is finally getting a bit better and pretty soon we all will be outside in full force! I can’t wait. I’m pretty tired of the cold and being indoors.

I work with a wonderful group of women! At lunch time we sometimes get together and just enjoy each others company and lunch! One of my friends had a delicious looking dish with some fantastic flavor! I am not shy around these women and actually asked “Can I try that?” I used to be more shy but I think that the older I get the less shy I am!

Whoa! This Aji as it’s called was amazing. The wonderful woman who makes it is Colombian and said that it is typically served with Colombian Empanadas (hers are delicious-I need lessons!) Another wonderful woman actually put it into recipe form and it works wonderfully!

I actually made this one day on Winter break while I was making tamales. I of course did not make empanadas but had some tortilla chips so I ate it as a dip. The flavor is absolutely bright and sunny! I am embarrassed to say that I ate it all by myself throughout the day. It happens, right?

Aji

Ingredients

  • 1 Cilantro bunch
  • 8 green onions (without the roots of course)
  • 1 avocado (out of its shell/skin of course!)
  • 2 tablespoons oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 8 chiles de arbol (less or more to your liking)
  • salt to taste

Directions

Throw everything in a blender and blend until smooth. Add salt to your liking.

This is definitely going to be a staple in my home and hopefully I will get some empanada making lessons soon! This could probably be used as a sandwich or wrap spread as well.

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

 

 

Leave a Reply

