Thanksgiving Stuffing

Standard

Hola!

Wow! November kind of snuck upon me and will be gone soon! I can’t believe Thanksgiving will be in a little over a week. I am just now getting my menu together—though it’s pretty much the same every year. My kids don’t like me to change what I make except for desserts. Those are kind of different every year.

For years…I mean like 25 years I always made stuffing out of the bag. I thought making homemade stuffing was hard so I never tried it. Now homemade is the only way to go!

thanksgivingstuffing

This isn’t the best picture but it sure is delicious! If you are a newby at homemade stuffing then this is the recipe for you. It doesn’t have a million ingredients and it’s easy.

Thanksgiving Stuffing

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. roll breakfast sausage
  • 8 cups white bread,  cubed (you can use any bread you like)
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 finely diced celery
  • 3/4 cup margarine, melted
  • 3 tspn. poultry seasoning
  • 1/4 tspn. ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Cook Sausage and drain fat. Set aside the drippings.
  2. Melt margarine-in a small pan or microwave. Add enough to sausage drippings to make 1 cup.
  3. Saute; onions and celery in margarine/dripping mixture until onion is tender. Do not brown. Stir in about 1/3 bread cubes. Put sausage, dripping mixture in a big bowl and add remaining bread cubes, poultry seasoning, and pepper. Be careful, it’s hot! Mix well.
  4.  This recipe is very adaptable. I like to add about a cup of frozen peas and frozen corn-just mix it in there before putting in a 9×13 buttered pan. Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes. You can remove the foil the last ten minutes if you like to allow the bread to dry a bit or if you like your stuffing more on the dry side.

I am making two pans of this stuffing this Thanksgiving since we love leftovers! Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

Source: Adapted from Allrecipes.com

 

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

