Rhubarb Syrup

Standard

Hola!

I hope everyone is having a fabulous summer! Mine is ok. Nothing fantastic. This is the first summer in about seventeen years that I work. Now that my kids are grown there was really no point to staying home for the summer and besides the extra money does come in handy! I do miss sleeping in though…you know how I love to sleep in. We do go out to eat and such but nothing too big this summer.  But before you know it I’ll be back on my school year schedule.

Who likes rhubarb? I do and so does my husband. It has a kind of sour-tangy taste to it so turning it into something sweet is the perfect use for it.  Years ago we had a rhubarb plant and I would make strawberry rhubarb pie. Then my plant died…which is weird because you pretty much just let it grow on its own…I think! Anyhow, we bought rhubarb plants when we went to the Flower and Garden Show and they are gorgeous! They have the big green leaves and the beautiful ruby red colored stalks. It is actually a vegetable but is usually thought to be a fruit because it’s mainly used in desserts.

Of course I had to go online and find out what else can be made with rhubarb. I found a super simple recipe for rhubarb syrup.

Isn’t the color beautiful?  I chose to make a drink (non-alcoholic) with the syrup and club soda. It’s so refreshing and pretty. Because of the color it would be such a pretty drink for bridal and baby showers.

Rhubarb Syrup

  • 4 cups chopped rhubarb
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water

Directions

Combine the rhubarb, sugar, and water in a heavy-bottomed saucepan and bring to a boil. Lower the heat to a simmer and cook gently, stirring occasionally, until the fruit is soft and the liquid has thickened slightly, about 20 minutes.

Set a fine mesh strainer (or a coarse strainer lined with cheesecloth) over a large bowl. Pour the rhubarb through the strainer until most of the liquid is in the bowl. Press the solids a little with the back of a spoon to extract more syrup.

Carefully pour the syrup into a clean bottle . If pouring into a glass jar make sure it will hold hot liquids. I let it cool a bit before funneling into my jar.  Cover or cork the bottle and refrigerate. It should keep for quite some time in the fridge.

I did keep the solids from the strained liquid and used it as a jam on toast. It was so good and nothing goes to waste. There are so many ways to use the syrup…over ice cream, on pound cake and of course in alcoholic drinks. Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

source thekitchn

 

 

Leave a Reply

